the skull is made up of 22 different

bones eight cranial bones that enclose

your brain within the neurocranium and

14 facial skeleton bones there are also

six ear bones with the exception of the

mandible the bones of the skull are

joined by sutures which are a kind of

joint that is sin arthro do in other

words it can't move the eight cranial

bones include one occipital bone ones

Fino it bone one ethmoid bone one

frontal bone a pair of parietal bones

and a pair of temporal bones the

occipital bone is found at the back of

the skull the sphenoid bone can be found

in the middle and fear your portion of

the neurocranium and it kind of looks

like a butterfly it is in front of the

temporal bone and is one of the seven

bones that articulate to form the orbit

the other six are the frontal bone the

lacrimal bone the ethmoid bone the

zygomatic bone the maxillary bone and

the Palatine bone

the ethmoid bone is found between your

eyes located at the roof of the nose and

separates the nasal cavity from the

brain the frontal bone is the bone of

your forehead it has two portions the

vertical portion and also the

horizontally oriented orbital portion

the remaining four bones are a pair of

parietal bones and a pair of temporal

bones the parietal bones are joined

together at the top of the skull

together they form the top and sides of

the neurocranium each bone is roughly

quadrilateral in shape the temporal

bones can be found at the sides and base

of the skull

they are overlaid by what we call the

temples it is inside the petrous part of

the temporal bone that we find the

ossicles these are the bones of the

middle ear and are the smallest bones in

your body

a set of three ossicles is found on each

side of your head so there are six

ossicles in total these bones include

the hammer anvil and stirrup also called

the malleus incus and stapes

the ear canal which joins the outer and

middle ears is known as the external

acoustic meatus there is also the

internal acoustic meatus which is a tube

running from the inner ear to the back

of the skull to what's called the

posterior cranial fossa the three fossae

of this goal will be discussed in a

later video

so those were the eight cranial bones

again these included the occipital bone

the sphenoid bone the ethmoid bone the

frontal bone a pair of parietal bones

and a pair of temporal bones

for the facial bones the facial bones

include the mandible the vomer a pair of

maxillae a pair of palatine bones a pair

of nasal bones

a pair of nasal concha a pair of

zygomatic bones and a pair of lacrimal

bones the mandible is your jaw bone it

is the largest bone in the human face

and is the only moveable bone in the

skull apart from the ossicles the other

unpaired facial bone is the vomer which

forms the inferior part of the nasal

septum and articulates with the sphenoid

ethmoid palatine bones and maxillary


a pair of maxillae are fused together at

the inner maxillary suture to form the

bone of the upper jaw this includes the

hard palate in the front of your mouth

the two palatine bones together with the

maxilla comprised the hard palate they

are located at the back of the nasal


the pair of nasal bones formed the

bridge of the nose and are joined at the

internal suture

the nasal concha are thin bony elements

forming the upper chambers of the nasal


they are composed of three pairs the

inferior middle and superior concha

pneumatic bones or your cheekbones

articulate with the maxilla temporal

bone sphenoid bone and frontal bone the

lacrimal bone is a small bone in the

front of the medial wall of the orbit if

you liked this video like and subscribe

you can also support me by following the

link to my patreon if you have any

topics you'd like me to cover please

leave a comment